BOOK REVIEW: TWO RIVERS: DE TROUBLE I BE SEE BY BOB ROGERS

RATING: πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“š

This book had me going through a cluster of emotions. It took me about two weeks to finish this book, and I usually read 2 books a day type of girl, no matter how long the book is, if I have time. I needed constant breaks with this book. Maybe I’m just overly sensitive.

Two Rivers is a heavy read, emotionally heavy, to me. It stays with you long after you put it down. It’s based in the Civil War era, during slavery. You are seeing the world at that time through the eyes of an 84-year-old slave, Posey. I fell in love with this character, and boy did my heartbreak multiple times for him, and everyone else.

Posey is an 84-year-old slave. His father was a slave and passed useful information to Posey on how to keep the rice plantation they worked on flowing nicely. Posey shared this knowledge with the overseer of the plantation, and the crops (I guess that’s what you call it) grow nicely. The manager is cruel and downright rotten. Bob Rogers is a phenomenal writer.

The rawness of this book may be hard to read for some. The way life was back then, the cruelty, mistreatment, and love they found. This book was gut-wrenching, heartbreaking, and beautifully written. It is about as realistic as you’re going to get. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

Bob Rogers is a former US Army captain and a combat veteran of the Vietnam War. Later, he sojourned for thirty-three years at IBM. Bob was also a charter member of the Baltimore, Maryland chapter of the 9th and 10th (Horse) Cavalry Association.

Bob published his first novel, Hitting Life’s Curveballs, in October 2009. In the years since, he released historical novels, First Dark: A Buffalo Soldier’s StoryThe Laced Chameleon, the novella, Sacrifice at Shiloh Church, and a memoir with a fellow Vietnam War veteran, My Blue Yonder.

Leave a Reply