BOOK REVIEW: FROM TROPHY WIFE TO COSMETIC SURGEON BY VICTORIA JOHNSON, MD.

RATING: πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“š.5

I will be honest, I have few reviews for this book. I got heavy and deep for a minute. Normally, when books cause a strong reaction, it’s an automatic 5 star. This is a 4.5 star for me. A few things I couldn’t get behind, and it dropped it half a point. The story was too inspiring to give it a 4, but my feelings on certain things won’t let me give it a full 5. I will explain why.

This is a story about a woman who goes from being a typical southern housewife to a successful surgeon. That alone is incredible. We see her flourish over the course of the book and become her own woman. Her husband was a real piece of work. I could not stand that man. He is controlling, manipulative, abusive, and insecure. Yeah, I said it, insecure. Men who act like that are insecure themselves, so they tear down women to make them feel more “alpha”. The use they fact that most of the time the wife does not have any money or anywhere to go to keep them in their cages, yes cages. Boom, you are stuck in a loveless marriage for convenience and control.

Over the years, she realized she wanted more for her and her daughter. It wasn’t easy, as it was a long and bumpy journey, but she never gave up. I love that she kept fighting for her “freedom” and her “independence”. She went to counseling, got back in school, and by the age of 30 she was enrolled in medical school. It’s never too late to pursue your purpose. I mean, she finally divorced her husband, graduated medical school, and earned her full medical license. As I read each accomplishment, I would smile to myself, like you go girl.

She played around with emergency medicine and met a patient who years later would come up to her and thank her for saving his life. That has to be a wonderful feeling to see someone you treated years ago alive and well. Moving past her residency, she was a full-fledged physician now. Dr. Johnson faced many trials and tribulations, but she overcame all of them. Baby, the medical field is full of petty individuals, it seems. Everyone was out for my girl. She was inspired by other doctors who opened their own practices and decided to change cometic surgery.

She fought hard and worked ever harder to make her dreams come true. The pressures she was under continued nother to make any one fold. Not only did she achieve her goal of becoming a doctor, she also opened her own practice. It wasn’t easy. A nurse was robbing her, the DEA tried to file a case against her, and many other things. What I loved most is that she persevered through and never gave up.

Now, the reason for my rating. One, she told her daughter that the people who pump your gas or waitress/waiter did not go to college. She wanted her daughter to want more in life and get a higher education, and I get that. My thing is, for someone who knows what being belittled feels like, why would you make belittling statements about someone else? Just because they work at a service station or wait tables does not mean they did not go to college or don’t have a future. I don’t care how old they were, you can’t make that assumption. I mean, Dr. Johnson started med school at 30. They could be in school or have a degree, but could never find a job. We don’t know what happened in people’s lives to pass that type of judgment.

Another thing is when she divorced her husband. He moved to New Orleans and invited his child out to visit. He KEPT her there and told Dr. Johnson that she would not be coming home and was not allowed to speak to her. It took a year for her daughter to call for her to make that drive to go and get her. Again, I usually am not one to judge, but fuck. There is no person, place, or thing that would’ve kept me from my child. The day anyone tells me I am not allowed to speak or that my child wouldn’t be coming back to me…. I bet they wouldn’t try that shit again by the time I was done. That alone almost made me rate the book a 3 star. I was in situations in my childhood where I was not put first or didn’t feel like a priority, so I can only imagine how her daughter felt for a whole year. I don’t care what I had to do, my child would have been home before the week was up. I can’t get one board with it, no matter the reasoning behind it.

I still say read the book. Especially if you are at a point in your life where you’re like what’s next. I enjoyed this book so many, pearl clutching, heart racing, and emotional moments in this book. Highly recommend.

Victoria Johnson, MD, is a well-known physician in the practice of aesthetic medicine. She has pioneered many state-of-the-art laser procedures and surgeries and has helped guide the field for more than twenty years. Dr. Johnson is a published author and has served on many medical boards and committees. She continues to teach other physicians the art of aesthetic medical practice and various medical techniques. Dr. Johnson has won many distinguished awards, but her favoRite things in life are her husband and family.

ttps://trophywifetocosmeticsurgeon.com

Leave a Reply