BOOK REVIEW: SAM SAYS YOU ARE BORN TO SHINE BY SAM HIRSCHMANN

RATING: 📚📚📚📚📚

Sam Says You Are Born to Shine by Sam Hirschmann and illustrated by Amelina Jones. Safe to say this book was a hit in my household. Sam is a nine-year-old girl who is sweet, bubbly, and carefree. She is true to herself and isn’t scared to stand out. I loved her confidence and positive attitude. She wears bright colors and colorful prints and loves to dance. Every day at recess, she brings out her boombox and puts on a dance party. At first it’s just her and the other kids whisper, trying to figure out what was going on with her. The next day, a few kids came along and joined in, and pretty soon the whole class was going involved. She led by example that it’s okay to let loose and have fun. Sam stayed true to herself and didn’t try to fit in. She wasn’t a mean girl, and she wasn’t standoffish. Pretty soon, the whole class followed suit, and everyone adapted the positive attitude and bright attire. This was a fun and cute story. Amelina Jones is an amazing artist.


After the 6-week program I went on to complete a professional 2-Year Meisner Technique acting program. The William Esper Studio, my acting teachers, and my acting family taught me everything about my emotional world – what things mean to me, what I hate, what I love, what makes me cry, what makes me angry, what makes me want to fix a broken glass in 10 minutes (Meisner people will know what I mean by that:). It taught me the vast vast vast layers of the human experience. I had never felt so in my skin. Now looking back it was my first introduction to getting to know the tip of the iceberg of my soul’s essence. I was finally having a relationship with my body and finding all the gems of my soul hidden under the layers and layers of censorship that were there.

https://samhirschmann.com

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: SAM SAYS YOU ARE BORN TO SHINE BY SAM HIRSCHMANN

Leave a Reply